Iconic building with neoclassical features, the Headquarters of the Hellenic Naval Academy was built together with two other buildings, the Commanding Officer’s residence and infirmary, from 1901 to 1904, based on designs of the architect E. Markopoulos. Since its establishment, the Academy operated mainly on warships, except for a short period when it was housed in the Feraldi villa in Piraeus.
The erection of the three buildings on the coast of Piraeus was made possible thanks to his legacy and to this day bears the name of Vassanis Megaron.
During the occupation of Greece by the Axis Powers on WW II, the facilities Academy were used by the German Naval Command of the Southern Aegean and during the December Events of 1944 they housed the headquarters of the Fleet.
It is worth mentioning that the three buildings are preserved and retain their initial form due to their recent conservation.